This Mandorla Kinda Life

I iz a full-time student again. Which means I now study three days a week and work three days a week. (I haven’t figured out when and how to sleep yet but am hoping that will come soon – perhaps on the seventh day? :D)

And for the first time in over 10 years, I have a great photo on my student card. It’s totally shallow but the old pic was truly hideous and they kept reprinting the same ugly photo on my card each time I enrolled in a new course. Now finally the admin team let me take a minute of their time to get a new photo taken. And allowed me approve it. Such. A. Relief. And. Ego. Boost.

More importantly, clever me has chosen a course that makes my heart sing. I’m interested in the subjects. I’ve already been reading text books. For pleasure.

It’s another fantastic start to the year. I feel balanced and strong in my little mandorla world. Others around me are going through their personal crises and I’m able to offer support to them (and still feel grateful for all that was given to me).

I’ve had to virtually drop out of the creative writing class… and after there was a picture of us in the local paper and everything! Perhaps that was the highest accolade anyway. 😉 Of course I’ll still be writing…

The household held a dinner party last night and my coconut-fruit ice-cream was very well received. It comes across as being all fancy yet it’s so easy to make. Plus the company was great and I think we all had a good time. More house parties please!

So I don’t have much to write about, just oiling the blog, preventing rust… must remember not to leave it out in the rain either…

Don't let it happen to you (linked from kismet.blogs.com)

Night night.

About

Of the female variety and hungry for knowledge, truth and love.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Blog, Creative Writing, Life, Me Me Me!, Personal Growth, Thankful Thursday, Winds of Change
4 comments on “This Mandorla Kinda Life
  1. kymbo says:

    So glad you’re feeling positive and inspired Spiral, It’s easy to do well when youre interested in the subject. Cheers

    • Spiral says:

      My housemate reminded me that not so long ago I knew I wanted to study but not sure what, when. But I researched, made some decisions and things have all fallen into place 🙂

  2. artistsblog says:

    So good to hear that you’ve a Singing Heart AND a good Student I.D. photo! That’s a winning Quinella.

    Study = focus, whether you want it to or not. Being a “mature aged” student can certainly be a challenge as well.

    Good on you!

    Cheers,

    Cindy

    • Spiral says:

      Hi Cindy!

      Bad photos are always downers but a bad ID photo is heartbreaking. With everything digital it’s not difficult to get at least a neutral photo. I hid my card for years and hated anyone seeing it. It was also my library card and borrowing books was awful. No more no more no more!

      Funnily enough, I’m the youngest in this course. Usually there are heaps of applicants, this year there are barely enough to run the class. Fortunately it is still running! I don’t feel very mature and don’t have many responsibilities – less than the last time I studied – so I’m feeling I’ll manage quite well 😉

      Love checking into your blog and seeing how creative, talented and passionate you are!

Leave a Reply

Read My Mandorla by email.

Join 85 other followers

Mandorla of Yesteryear
Mandorla Topics
