Toilet Humour

So I’ve been looking at my stats and have noticed the following:

  • 30% of all search terms that lead to my blog include the word, ‘toilet’
  • the searchers predominantly use American English spelling
  • sometimes the keywords have no relevance to anything I’ve posted

Toilets are popular. Just ask Kenny! Or perhaps he started the whole thing. Mostly searches are for cartoon toilets or fish going down toilets. If I want more visitors, a regular “toilet break” or “toilet humour” post would  probably draw the crowds.

Also, if I want more search engines to pick me up, I could use more American spellings. But, because I’m Australian and learned a mix of British English and Strine, I can’t quite bring myself to do that. At school it was really drummed into us that realise has an ‘s’ in it, not a ‘z’. Jeweller has two ‘l’s, colour has a ‘u’ in it, haemorrhoid has an ‘a’ in it… you know how it is…

I think it’s pretty stupid to have different ways to spell the same word and then to tell people they are wrong or right depending on where they live or where they learned to spell. It’s enough of a challenge to spell at all! When I read messages from younger people, many of them seem to invent their own spelling anyway. Perhaps it’ll become a thing of the past…

As for the strange keyword searches, things don’t always have to make sense.

About

Of the female variety and hungry for knowledge, truth and love.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Blog
2 comments on “Toilet Humour
  1. Kymbo says:

    Yep, thats why I use USA and English measurements etc…saves them asking how many litres there are in a kilometre.
    As for Kenny, it’s about time a strine speaking actor did some good in his own country…dont ya tink?

  2. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    That is amazing, I wonder why so many searches for toilets? But really it doesn’t matter I feel, as long as they have enjoyed what you have posted that’s all that really matters, and who knows you may have also picked up some more followers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Read My Mandorla by email.

Join 85 other followers

Mandorla of Yesteryear
Mandorla Topics
