Repairs (getting more than I paid for)

I’ve been living in my friends’ empty house for nearly three weeks. The buyers take ownership of the house next week and I volunteered to help get the place ready for the final inspection.

A certain piece of machinery was required for one job. I’m going to use a sly code and hint that it has something to do with c-u-t-t-i-n-g g-r-a-s-s. I’ve never minded this chore, actually was kind of enjoying it. Except, of course, the grass-cutter broke while I was using it. A wheel snapped off. My friends had warned me it was old but a wheel falling off??? Anyway, I decided I’d get it repaired or at least get a quote. My friends have not asked for rent (although I am leaving them some anyway) and the least I can do is get their grass-cutter fixed.

[I need to add here that I do not own a set of tools. Not even one screwdriver. I’ve always lived with other people who possess shiny – or not so shiny – toolboxes filled with glorious tools… or I’ve had boyfriends to borrow from/do the work. Also, the damage to the wheel looked beyond my barely existent fix-it skills…]

I googled grass-cutter repairs, called the one with the best name – MandorlaTown Grass-Cutter Repairs – and took it round. The repairman told me it was a cheap brand and he usually wouldn’t touch them but would make an exception this time.

I don’t recall fluttering my eyelashes at any stage. It was a crazy chaotic day and I was definitely frazzled but when I went to pick up the repaired grass-cutter and fork over my life savings, Mr Repairman asked me on a date.

Shock.

Completely unexpected*. In the ‘had not occurred to me to even notice his gender, looks, approximate age or indeed anything about him’ kind of way. I suspect he was good-looking. He had an earring and I don’t remember much else. Meanwhile, he seemed to have noticed a lot about me.

I declined the date. It’s too soon and I told him this.

Still, it makes a gal feel good to be asked out 🙂

The most bestest grass-cutter of them all! blog.broadcastengineering.com

(*Logic tells me Mr Repairman probably thinks I a) am loaded if I can afford his services b) obviously don’t have a man around who can fix things c) like cutting grass d) have at least a couple of friends. I’m a catch.)

About

Of the female variety and hungry for knowledge, truth and love.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Dating, Humour
17 comments on “Repairs (getting more than I paid for)
  1. Why not go on the date petal?

    • Spiral says:

      I’m not myself yet.
      I’m wounded and confused, though gaining in strength. I’ll know when it’s time to put myself out there again.

  2. Starry says:

    good for you! It doesn’t matter if you feel you can accept or not, it is always nice, as you say. One day you will be asked, you will be ready, and he will be a great guy!

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ruby Wildflower, Spiral. Spiral said: My Repairman wanted to give me more than I paid for: http://wp.me/pWMJ3-7d […]

  4. Kymbo says:

    …so it’s all good then?!
    Like Starry said, it matters not if you accept, it’s a nice complement and one day you will be ready. You might need to wreck the mechanical goat again just to get a better look…

    • Spiral says:

      Not that I would do that but his repairs are under 6 mth warranty…

      🙂

    • Spiral says:

      He told me he’s moving (which I suspected because there was a For Sale sign out the front). I just thought to look up the new address. It’s just around the corner from where I’m moving to – four blocks away. I think there’s a pretty good chance I’ll be seeing Mr Repairman around…

  5. Personally I think not a date, but perhaps lunch (going dutch) or coffee/tea. A little non-threatening interaction with the opposite sex could help save those muscles from atrophy.

    Your parenthetical tells me that you greatly overestimate the male. He has probably not gotten past 1) how you look, 2) how you express yourself and 3) how he feels when he interacts with you. Probably he cares about none of that other stuff yet.

    • Spiral says:

      I appreciate your comments, Jess.

      I’ll blog more on what’s stopping me from saying yes.

      1) Well I guess if he is attracted to me in a hoodie, slacks and work boots, un-made-up, un-styled and being a little more curvy than usual, then that’s a good thing.

      2) I think he fell for the damsel-in-distress thing I’ve got going. Men always want to rescue me.

      3) I felt nothing (apart from shocked and flattered).

  6. Well, there’s that. 🙂

  7. Tim says:

    Might as well just face it Spiral – you’re a bonafide dude magnet

    • Spiral says:

      Said with tongue planted firmly in cheek…

      I have had seriously few men ask me out – or me asking anyone out – so I tend to get a little excited/surprised.

  8. […] and ran into Mr Grass-Cutter Repairman. At least, I think it was him. The fact that I didn’t recognise him makes me suspect so. He […]

  9. […] and ran into Mr Grass-Cutter Repairman. At least, I think it was him. The fact that I didn’t recognise him makes me suspect so. He […]

  10. […] out of my visits. I caught all the peak hour traffic last Friday and spent about 6 hrs in my car. I got sunburnt and a bit […]

  11. […] Remember when I got asked out on a date? […]

Leave a Reply

Read My Mandorla by email.

Join 87 other followers

Mandorla of Yesteryear
Mandorla Topics
