Basket Case (It’s a Small World)

sustainablehearts.wordpress.com

I was in the health food section of the supermarket examining some tinned vegetarian products made out of wheat gluten and preservatives and wondering why anyone in their right mind would eat them. It was late, I’d had a long day and tend to procrastinate and go off track at such times.

In a swift movement someone step-jumped around and in front of me. I dropped my jaw but somehow not the tin. An ex lover. But not just any ex lover. The ex lover. He pushed his “play dialogue” button and was off. Talking. And I felt compelled to talk back. And, oh boy, my heart was pounding in some anxiety reaction.

On the surface I was awkwardly holding a conversation with someone I hadn’t seen in years. Deep down (and to the trained observer) my body reactions were talking strongly to me. My hands vice gripped the shopping basket handle and held it as a barrier in front of me.

I don’t remember much of what was said. I was surprised at how he looked, talked, questioned, said it was good to see me, that he’d like to have coffee, at how he divulged details.

I wanted to press his “mute dialogue” button.

Did he always talk so much?

Was I really once obsessed by this man?

I’ve been back just over a week. One. Week. The Universe is sending me closure for that relationship. Or else it has a twisted sense of humour.

A telltale sign: I was only slightly dismayed that I was am looking like a zombie who hasn’t been eating well or getting much sleep, hasn’t done any exercise in two months, wearing the last of the clean clothes that don’t match or fit very well and have visible signs of hay fever.

I guess it’s a case of been there, done that.

And now I’m off to bed. I get the whole morning off tomorrow. Joy!

About

Of the female variety and hungry for knowledge, truth and love.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Humour, Personal Growth, Winds of Change
38 comments on “Basket Case (It’s a Small World)
  1. midnitechef says:

    Congrats on FP 🙂 Live on, he sounds rather annoying anyways!

  2. CrystalSpins says:

    Every time I see an ex I feel like I’m seeing a ghost (http://wp.me/pY8MO-2I).

    I think you should have coffee with him and then write about it so that we can all watch what happens.

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  3. Gina Mortenson says:

    There is NOTHING better than realizing you are finally over “the” ex! Ahhh…no more “what if’s?” Just peace and closure! Congratulations on being freshly pressed. 🙂 Best of luck to you!

  4. Hmmm, it sounds as if you have processed the situation well. “Did he always talk so much” you wondered. I wonder if he was nervous and wanted to make a good impression. Congrats on being freshly pressed for a good post.

  5. Good for you. We do survive, don’t we?

  6. Catherine says:

    Nothing worse than running into an ex unprepared. Umm, unless it’s running into his mom (who you were incredibly close with). True story, happened to me in the grocery store. No fun at all. http://simplysolo.wordpress.com

    • Spiral says:

      Rest assured. I have another ex AND his mum AND brother around town. There’s a very good chance I’ll run into one of them…

  7. Jim Nixon says:

    Damn, and I thought this was about the veggies….They sure look good….
    Relationships? Nothing but heartbreak. Better off just being buds….

  8. I hate when that happen. Seeing an old friend or boyfriend when I am looking like crap.

  9. Lakia says:

    This is funny. I can remember the feelings of seeing an ex… It’s a crazy feeling and makes you wonder what you really saw in that person. You live and you learn, though.

  10. wineguider says:

    This post is awesome. Anybody who has been shaken up by love, or hearbroken, can relate. And good for you — that lover didn’t deserve anything more than the hay-fever version of you.
    -Wineguider
    http://www.wineguider.wordpress.com

  11. Jule1 says:

    Well, you know you’re over him, lol! Congrats. It’s always good to get closure.

  12. Girl… you’re way over him! Nice work–some of us don’t get the chance to recognize that closure is right there in front of us–that “chance” meeting in the grocery aisle was a blessing in disguise! A gift!

    Serendipity, if you will…. 🙂

  13. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Spiral and Freshly Pressed, Spiral. Spiral said: Small town living – I am accosted by an ex lover: http://wp.me/pWMJ3-5U […]

  14. Spiral says:

    Thank you all muchly for the comments. A surprise to wake up and find I’m Freshly Pressed. I did dream that he had a blog. I think he’d laugh if he read this post but still, *fingers crossed* he doesn’t use WordPress! 🙂

  15. Shreya says:

    Congratulations for being freshly pressed and thank you for making me laugh 🙂 You are so over him, good for you!

  16. Great, great, great post! You also have no idea how relevant this is to so many women, including myself, right now. The universe is full of signs, though, isn’t it?! Really happy for you.

  17. Interesting what the universe brought you, isn’t it? I do think it has a sense of humor. I mean if you do, how could it not? 🙂

  18. The world moves on and so do we. Nice!

  19. i love when life plays little jokes on me like that!

  20. I haven’t had this happen in probably ten years…… but if it does I imagine it happening just like this hahaha.

  21. Kymbo says:

    It’s always the way…when you look and feel your worst, of are in a terrible rush they come out of the blue to invade your space and slow you down… I suppose it didnt occur to you to whack him with the can you were holding?! 🙂

  22. adidoel says:

    very nice true story, some jokes work for us

  23. He talked to impress you once again… It means that you are still adorable for him.. I hope he read it to see that He now is just a Zombi.. 🙂

  24. I hate when that happen. Seeing an old friend or boyfriend when I am looking like crap.

  25. Lenny says:

    Yeah, thanks for sharing and share once you’ve found a sollution ? 😀

  26. rainmalt says:

    yup it’s pretty bad he’d seen you like that. but it’s not always the looks that we’re remembered for. besides, i didn’t think he would invite you to have coffee with him if he was disgusted by the way you look.

  27. […] My Mandorla Searching for and uncovering my personal truth Skip to content HomeAbout MeWhat’s a Mandorla?Disclaimer ← Basket Case (It’s a Small World) […]

  28. Retail Robot says:

    Love your blog! 🙂

    That sounds terrible…I wish there was some planet you could send exes to so that you were guaranteed not to ever run into them again! Also, sometimes life just works in funny ways and DOES send you closure when you least expect it—the fact that you even stood there questioning why you had ever been with this man really means that you are over him and have moved on with your life–sounds like good closure to me! Just another sign that life doesn’t unintentionally throw things your way and that everything happens for a reason.

  29. […]     I was in the health food section of the supermarket examining some tinned vegetarian products made out of wheat gluten and preservatives and wondering why anyone in their right mind would eat them. It was late, I'd had a long day and tend to procrastinate and go off track at such times. In a swift movement someone step-jumped around and … Read More […]

  30. […] of us away in a fantasy world of poetry and erotic explorations. So the other day, when we had that encounter in the supermarket, it was a shock to see the flesh, the reality – so opposed to my […]

  31. […] of work around all of my moving. And clients have been friends or by coincidence we realise we have someone in common – even those who live in other cities. I also still run into people that I need to […]

  32. […] in the last year of the relationship with Seven, I had an affair or two. Major control issues and being young were a factor in heading down that path. Also, my role […]

  33. […] They invited me to join them, I drank a chamomile tea with them and realised I don’t know Mr Case at all but that he is very cool, attractive and fun. His friend was interesting […]

Leave a Reply

Read My Mandorla by email.

Join 87 other followers

Mandorla of Yesteryear
Mandorla Topics
