Breaking up is hard to do

Almost four years ago I began a relationship with a man who was attractive, interesting, loving and seemingly right for me. Of course, there were some opposites and some annoying habits but doesn’t everyone have those? I’m certainly no saint and have lots of flaws myself. I overlooked the bad and focused on the positive.

But there were frustrations and miscommunications. Constantly. There was so much drama and questioning and we never really seemed to resolve our differences and issues.

In the last few days I’ve seen a psychologist and a Reverend, had chats with family and friends, done some writing, thinking, meditating and dreaming.

I’m seeing the relationship from a detached place. I’m seeing that I felt soooooooo badly about myself that I allowed him to be dominant, to make decisions and advise me. I allowed myself to go along with things that were not right for me. I even allowed occasional verbal abuse.

I tried so hard to make him happy and to be who he wanted me to be. I failed because you can’t make someone else happy and you can only change yourself if you want to change. In some ways I was miserable, only finding happiness when he accepted me or gave me some affection.

Really, we were two separate souls and never found that other identity that is formed in a relationship; the us. Some call it becoming one.

And him on his own is not enough for me. I need to be  part of something more. I need shared goals, hopes and dreams. I need us supporting and helping each other to accomplish individual dreams.

And I need to start a family. Mostly, I’ve been waiting for the “us” to form so that we would have children. I want my future children brought up in a loving, commited, stable, functional relationship.

A week ago that dream was dashed.

I’ve made my decision.

I’ve decided to end it, to walk away.

I’m not sure how to do that. I’m t-e-r-r-i-f-i-e-d of many of the practical things I’ll need to do on my own. But I just can’t follow him around anymore and play by his rules. I’d rather face my fears and fulfill my potential. Even if it’s a struggle and I have to live off two minute noodles.

I haven’t told him yet. He’s away again and we’ll need to talk. Therefore I’m not posting this just yet. He needs to be told first.

[This post was made public 2 months later]

About

Of the female variety and hungry for knowledge, truth and love.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Me Me Me!, My Partner
4 comments on “Breaking up is hard to do
  1. Kymbo says:

    Theres not much I can add to this one Spiral… Except that it is a powerful and wonderful post from the heart. Love it!

  2. Kim Pugliano says:

    I’ve been married, had a child, divorced and remarried and I will make this suggestion from what I have learned in my journey: Look for the man you want to be old with, NOT the man you want to have children with. There IS a difference. With my first husband I couldn’t wait to have children with him and raise them together. With my current husband, while I enjoy having someone help me love and raise my son, I look forward to the future when it is just us. I have much more to be happy about with him. Having someone who makes me look forward to my 50s (I’m not even 40) is amazing and makes me enjoy every single minute with him NOW. I hope that makes sense. Good girl for doing what you needed to do. Enjoy being single. Appreciate it. Be happy that nobody else’s heart was involved.

  3. In 1978 I did exactly the same as you . . . after eleven years! Trust me when I say: You’ll be fine. Because of my experience I now have the ability to do it again if I should ever need to. There is strength deep inside a woman sometimes she is not aware of but it is there and you are finding it. Good You!

  4. Spiral says:

    Thanks for the life advice, ladies.

    I probably should have made it more clear that I wrote this post 2 months ago and only made it public now. It didn’t seem right to share with strangers before sharing with the person it involved. I was cleaning up my drafts and decided it was time to share, that my story is more fluid with this included.

    Two months on a LOT has changed but breaking up was the right thing to do.

Leave a Reply

Read My Mandorla by email.

Join 85 other followers

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Mandorla of Yesteryear
Mandorla Topics
